I’m finding it difficult to be online without reading everything I come across regarding the Jerry Sandusky/Joe Paterno/Second Mile/Penn State University Football Rape Cover-up story.  I’m interested in the story for a million reasons.

One simple reason I’m fascinated by this story?  This whole thing reeks of patriarchy.  Power, cover-ups, loyalty through injustice, sexual abuse, lies– patriarchy.  Shit, even one of the principle character’s name means FATHERLY.  So let’s be real– even if I did not work in university administration (I do) at a division 1 big sports school (I do), even if I was not a feminist (I am), even if I did not stand in solidarity with survivors of rape (I do), even if I was not a mandated reporter (I am), even if I was not critical of the way that collegiate athletics get away with a lot of shit (I am), I would still be glued to this story because it touches the root of who I am as a person– Do Not Let These Fucking Assholes Get Away With This Shit.

I want to share this link: http://www.collegian.psu.edu/archive/2011/11/10/the_fall_of_giants.aspx

 

I want to say that if these men had really been giants, they would have used their giant power and giant money to protect those who needed protection.

And I also want to share this link. http://whatever.scalzi.com/2011/11/10/omelas-state-university

 

 

