I’m not perfect.  My feminism is not perfect, my queerness is not perfect, my understanding of privilege is not perfect.  I continue to grow, evolve, learn, try, fuck up, and try again.  My intentions are generally to share information that I think is interesting, and see what discussion comes out of it from people.  Sometimes I have to step away from conversations though, because I get really frustrated.

Today I’m grouchy about Dan Savage.  I wish he would take ownership of the critique that he harms more than helps when he uses words that don’t belong to him.

Today I’m grouchy about feminists who are openly transphobic.  I’m sorry, but I do not agree with you that sexism against women creates an environment that oppresses people into gender dysphoria. That may be true for someone you know, or some trans people, but it does something that I feel really uncomfortable with: it takes away people’s agency. Yes, I agree that gender inequality fucks us all over–but telling me how to express my gender without masculinity is no better than those who tell me that I’m only supposed to have one kind of femininity as a female-bodied person.

 

Ooh, that might be a longer post at some point.
Today I’m continuing to love Tiger Beatdown.  Check this one: http://tigerbeatdown.com/2011/10/10/my-feminism-will-be-intersectional-or-it-will-be-bullshit/

 

 

I know this isn’t a specifically feminist quote, but it’s been on my lips all day.

 

There is a time when the operation of the machine becomes so odious, makes you so sick at heart, that you can’t take part; you can’t even passively take part, and you’ve got to put your bodies upon the gears and upon the wheels, upon the levers, upon all the apparatus, and you’ve got to make it stop. And you’ve got to indicate to the people who run it, to the people who own it, that unless you’re free, the machine will be prevented from working at all. -Mario Savio

